Message sent from:


The New English Curriculum at Park Rd School

Since 2014 there has been a new curriculum in place, which has resulted in changes to the way we teach English.

Children will be taught and tested on the following four areas:

  1. Reading
  2. Writing
  3. Spelling
  4. Grammar

For the first time in 2016 children in their KS1 and KS2 SATs will be tested on the ‘new curriculum’.





Children will be taught to write a whole range of genres, both narrative fiction and non-fiction. Where possible we will try to link the writing to the topics they are learning about.They will also be taught handwriting skills using the Penpal’s handwriting scheme.

Children’s writing will be assessed over the year. There is no formal test in writing.

Spelling and Grammar

Throughout Foundation Stage and KS1 children will be delivered a daily phonics lesson. In KS2 children will have regular spelling lessons. Pupils will bring home spellings to learn for a weekly spelling test. A full break down of spelling and Phonics is given on the spelling pages.

From 2016 children across KS1 and KS2 will be given formal grammar lessons. This will support their writing and help with elements of sentence structure and punctuation.

SPAG TEST- For the first time in 2016, Y6 children will be tested nationally on spelling and grammar in the new curriculum. Details of spelling and grammar activities and learning objectives can be found in the booklet on the website..

Phonics Screening Check: Children at the end of year 1 will undertake a phonics check. This will be a short test administered 1:1 with the class teacher.

If you have any questions about what we are teaching or how you can help your child, please do not hesitate to contact us.




Phonics in Foundation Stage and KS1


At Park Rd school children are taught phonics daily from Reception through to Year 2. We use the Letter and Sounds scheme of work. They will be tested at the end of year 1 which gives us a national benchmark of their progress.

Phonics is broken down into 6 phases of learning. From the age of about five, the children learn the sounds of the letters (not the letter names) and how these sounds can be blended together to make short words. Below is a more detailed description of each of the six phases.

A grapheme is a letter, or number of letters that represent a sound (phoneme) in a word.

Phase 1


Activities are divided into seven aspects, including environmental sounds, instrumental sounds, body sounds, rhythm and rhyme, alliteration, voice sounds and finally oral blending and segmenting.

Phase 2

(Reception) – up to 6 weeks

Learning 19 letters of the alphabet and one sound for each. Blending sounds together to make words. Segmenting words into their separate sounds. Beginning to read simple captions.


Phase 3

(Reception) – up to 12 weeks

The remaining 7 letters of the alphabet, one sound for each. Graphemes such as ch, oo, th representing the remaining phonemes not covered by single letters. Reading captions, sentences and questions. On completion of this phase, children will have learnt the “simple code”, i.e. one grapheme for each phoneme in the English language.


Phase 4

(Reception/Year 1) – 4 to 6 weeks

No new grapheme-phoneme correspondences are taught in this phase. Children learn to blend and segment longer words with adjacent consonants, e.g. swim, clap, jump.


Phase 5

(Throughout Year 1)

Now we move on to the “complex code”. Children learn more graphemes for the phonemes which they already know, plus different ways of pronouncing the graphemes they already know.


Phase 6

(Throughout Year 2 and beyond)

Working on spelling, including prefixes and suffixes, doubling and dropping letters etc.


Sound mats and further resources for parents can be found at:



Hit enter to search